"Fountain of the Four Rivers" by Bernini

Located in the Piazza Navona in Rome, Italy, this spectacular fountain was commissioned to Gian Lorenzo Bernini by Pope Innocent X in 1651. The four large sculptures surrounding the central obelisk represent the four rivers of the four continents reached by papal rule – the Ganges River representing Asia, the Danube representing Europe, the Rio de la Plata representing the Americas and the Nile presenting Africa. Tradition erroneously maintains that the Rio de le Plata figure covers its face from the Church of St. Agnese, which was designed by Bernini’s rival, Francesco Borromini. Buona visione!


NBC News
The Smithsonian Associates
The History Channel
Travel + Leisure
National Geographic
Young Presidents' Organization
Friends of the Uffizi Gallery
Syracuse University
Palazzo Tornabuoni
Ohio Kent State University
Boston College
Contact Us
Weekdays 9am - 5pm ET
P.O. Box 241
East Greenwich, RI 02818
Latest News & Offers
Subscribe now to receive information on Rocky's latest study programs, lectures, interesting posts and much more!
© 2024 Rocky Ruggiero. All Rights Reserved.