SMITHSONIAN ASSOCIATES | Webinar “Michelangelo and The Last Judgement
Presented by Dr. Rocky Ruggiero

Date & Time:
Friday, August 27, 2021
6:30 – 8:30pm ET | 3:30 – 5:30pm PT |
11:30pm – 12:30am London

Special offer

Details

SMITHSONIAN ASSOCIATES | Webinar “Michelangelo and The Last Judgement” by Rocky Ruggiero, Ph.D.

More than two decades after completing the Sistine Chapel ceiling, a 61-year-old Michelangelo returned to fresco its altar wall with his gigantic work The Last Judgment. Covering nearly 1600 square feet of wall surface and containing more than 300 figures, the revolutionary painting took five years to complete and scandalized Rome, as many of its saints and angels were originally depicted in the nude.

Rocky Ruggiero, a specialist in the Early Renaissance, examines the style, iconography, and history of The Last Judgment and the influence that it had on later artists.

Please register through the Smithsonian website:

https://smithsonianassociates.org/ticketing/tickets/michelangelo-and-last-judgement